Server Users

Server (or, webapp) users help with enabling site isolation for your servers.

Why site isolation?

Site isolation helps you increase the security of your server as a whole by limiting what access users and sites have on your server. Site isolation is often used by hosting companies where multiple client information is housed on a server or organizations where multiple services are installed on one server.

To keep sites isolated, a server user is created first, then a site is associated to a single server user. The user will only have access to sites associated to them. They will not be able to view site folders for other users.

Server users will see other top-level folders for sites associated to other users; however, will not have access to drill into them. They will also be able to view root directory info in read-only.

This also helps with limiting access for plugins that clients may install on their server. Oftentimes, plugins aren't overly secure and can often do more harm than good.

Add a new user

Under the server you want to add a user to, click on the Users tab. Then, add the username and password you want to assign and then click Add.

You can make a user a sudo user. Do this with caution as this gives the user role more access than you may intend.

To edit a user's password or remove a user, select the user in the table and then make the appropriate updates.

If you choose to delete a user, please note that this action will also remove any sites associated to the user.

Apply a site to a user

You only have the option to apply a site to a server user when you are creating a new site. You cannot edit / change users for a site after the site has been created.

During site creating, select the Web App User dropdown to apply the site to a user.